diversityinya:

This week’s diverse new releases:

Like No Other by Una LaMarche (Razorbill)

“Devorah is a Hasidic Jew, and her life is full of loving family, constant ritual, and avoiding outsiders. Jaxon is a smart, funny black teenager who has yet to see much success with girls. Both live in Crown Heights, Brooklyn, but it takes a stuck elevator during a hurricane for the two to share their first words. … LaMarche’s (Five Summers) characters are authentic and fully realized, and the dire consequences that threaten this clandestine romance make the novel read like a thriller.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

The Fire Wish by Amber Lough (Random House)

“In medieval times, during a war between the humans and jinni, sixteen-year-old Najwa lives below the world’s surface in the cavern of crystal, fire, and water, training to be a jinni who can spy on the humans living above them. But her first time above ground, she is enthralled by the beauty of the human world and intrigued by the human prince she sees in Baghdad’s palace. … Lough has created a lyrical story resounding with magic, love, and strife. … This first book in a series will hook young adult readers who grew up on tales of Aladdin and the Arabian Nights and is sure to entice others looking for a tale of romance and adventure.” — VOYA

amberlough:

Hair is different but that’s still me! #books

amberlough:

Hair is different but that’s still me! #books

MY BOOK IS OUT IN THE WORLD TODAY. HOLY GALAXIES.

stephaniediazbooks:

image

I spent all of my childhood reading and loving stories, scribbling down my own in the journals that are still stuffed in my closet. Later, I frantically typed them into word documents.

image

Ever since I was six, it was my dream to walk into a bookstore and find a story I’d written on the shelf.

And now it’s actually coming true. Like. For real.

image

image

It’s pretty scary. And awesome. Also I can’t quite believe it.

I’m so grateful to all the people who helped me along the way: those who supported me and cheered me on, and those who inspired me even if they didn’t know it.

image

I hope some of you readers will pick it up and enjoy it, and maybe even love it. I’ll never be able to explain how much this book meant to me while I was writing it. It was a promise of better things to come, and it kept me going through a lot of scary moments. I’m so grateful I got to tell this story and continue telling it in the sequels. I hope you’ll stick with Clementine to see where she ends up.

If you’d like to buy Extraction, you can find lots of purchase links here.

If you do buy it, or check it out from the library, thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Your support means the world. <3

image

stephaniediazbooks:

MY BOOK IS HERE IT’S A REAL THING AND YOU CAN BUY IT

stephaniediazbooks:

MY BOOK IS HERE IT’S A REAL THING AND YOU CAN BUY IT

stephaniediazbooks:

stephaniediazbooks:

(A quote from my novel.)

So I posted this ages ago, but this quote is from my debut novel, EXTRACTION, which hits bookshelves tomorrow. It’s about a girl who wins an escape from a brutal life on her planet’s surface, where a poisonous moon looms in the sky, only to find herself battling to save the entire planet from destruction.
Excuse me while I hyperventilate over this childhood dream of mine finally coming true.
You can still pre-order the book if you want, or pick it up at your local bookstore tomorrow!

stephaniediazbooks:

stephaniediazbooks:

(A quote from my novel.)

So I posted this ages ago, but this quote is from my debut novel, EXTRACTION, which hits bookshelves tomorrow. It’s about a girl who wins an escape from a brutal life on her planet’s surface, where a poisonous moon looms in the sky, only to find herself battling to save the entire planet from destruction.

Excuse me while I hyperventilate over this childhood dream of mine finally coming true.

You can still pre-order the book if you want, or pick it up at your local bookstore tomorrow!

paperbackd:

Weekly YA Spotlight: A selection of the most anticipated new YA novels released this week (20/07 - 26/07)

Extraction (Extraction #1) by Stephanie Diaz  ✤ July 22nd

Dissonance (Dissonance #1) by Erica O’Rourke ✤ July 22nd

The Fire Wish (The Jinni Wars #1) by Amber Lough ✤ July 22nd

Strange and Ever After (Something Strange and Deadly #3) by Susan Dennard ✤ July 22nd

Like No Other by Una LaMarche ✤ July 24th

Endless (Shadowlands #3) by Kate Brian ✤ July 22nd

Check out the rest of this month’s new YA releases here!

OneFourKidLit Book Releases - Week of July 22

    image    image

EXTRACTION by Stephanie Diaz

"Welcome to Extraction testing."

Clementine has spent her whole life preparing for her sixteenth birthday, when she’ll be tested for Extraction in the hopes of being sent from the planet Kiel’s toxic Surface to the much safer Core, where people live without fear or starvation. When she proves promising enough to be “Extracted,” she must leave without Logan, the boy she loves. Torn apart from her only sense of family, Clem promises to come back and save him from brutal Surface life.

What she finds initially in the Core is a utopia compared to the Surface—it’s free of hard labor, gun-wielding officials, and the moon’s lethal acid. But life is anything but safe, and Clementine learns that the planet’s leaders are planning to exterminate Surface dwellers—and that means Logan, too. 

Trapped by the steel walls of the underground and the lies that keep her safe, Clementine must find a way to escape and rescue Logan and the rest of the planet. But the planet leaders don’t want her running—they want her subdued.

With intense action scenes and a cast of unforgettable characters, Extraction is a page-turning, gripping read, sure to entertain lovers of Hunger Games and Ender’s Game and leave them breathless for more.

B&N | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository

THE FIRE WISH by Amber Lough

A jinni. A princess. And the wish that changes everything… . 

Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the humans. Zayele is a human on her way to marry a prince of Baghdad—which she’ll do anything to avoid. So she captures Najwa and makes a wish. With a rush of smoke and fire, they fall apart and re-form—as each other. A jinni and a human, trading lives. Both girls must play their parts among enemies who would kill them if the deception were ever discovered—enemies including the young men Najwa and Zayele are just discovering they might love.

B&N | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository

THE MISADVENTURES OF THE FAMILY FLETCHER by Dana Alison Levy

Perfect for fans of The Penderwicks and James Patterson’s Middle School series, this seriously funny, modern family adventure features two dads, four adopted boys, and a variety of pets.

Meet the Fletchers. Their year will be filled with new schools, old friends, a grouchy neighbor, hungry skunks, leaking ice rinks, school plays, wet cats, and scary tales told in the dark!

There’s Sam, age twelve, who’s mostly interested in soccer, food, and his phone; Jax, age ten, who’s psyched for fourth grade and thinks the new neighbor stinks, and not just because of the skunk; Eli, age ten (but younger than Jax), who’s thrilled to be starting this year at the Pinnacle School, where everyone’s the smart kid; and Frog (not his real name), age six, who wants everyone in kindergarten to save a seat for his invisible cheetah. Also Dad and Papa. 

WARNING: This book contains cat barf, turtle pee, and some really annoying homework assignments.

B&N | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository

stephaniediazbooks:

Extraction teaser #6!
THIS BOOK I WROTE IS OUT IN TWO DAYS OH MY GOODNESS.
You can still pre-order if you’d like. :)

stephaniediazbooks:

Extraction teaser #6!

THIS BOOK I WROTE IS OUT IN TWO DAYS OH MY GOODNESS.

You can still pre-order if you’d like. :)

diversityinya:

My hope is that my own books and other books in this genre will grow more and more diverse in the coming years, drawing on little-known cultures to expand the worldview of all readers. I hope to be able to pay homage to my Latina heritage, as well as the other cultures in my blood, in future novels I write. But more than that, I hope to tell many stories about different kinds of people, not just the people I know best. After all, how can I grow as a writer—or a person—if I never venture out of my comfort zone?”

Author Stephanie Diaz (Extraction) at Latin@s in Kid Lit

em-llojo:

What’s Your Superpower Giveaway

Simply leave a comment on my blog about what you’d want your superpower to be, and be entered to win all of the books pictured above.
(US Only)

em-llojo:

What’s Your Superpower Giveaway

Simply leave a comment on my blog about what you’d want your superpower to be, and be entered to win all of the books pictured above.

(US Only)