Congrats all OneFour KidLit debut authors on this list!

OneFour KidLit Book Releases - Week of September 14

      

HOOK’S REVENGE by HEIDI SCHULZ

Twelve-year-old Jocelyn dreams of becoming every bit as daring as her infamous father, Captain James Hook. Her grandfather, on the other hand, intends to see her starched and pressed into a fine society lady. When she’s sent to Miss Eliza Crumb-Biddlecomb’s Finishing School for Young Ladies, Jocelyn’s hopes of following in her father’s fearsome footsteps are lost in a heap of dance lessons, white gloves, and way too much pink.

So when Jocelyn receives a letter from her father challenging her to avenge his untimely demise at the jaws of the Neverland crocodile, she doesn’t hesitate-here at last is the adventure she has been waiting for. But Jocelyn finds that being a pirate is a bit more difficult than she’d bargained for. As if attempting to defeat the Neverland’s most fearsome beast isn’t enough to deal with, she’s tasked with captaining a crew of woefully untrained pirates, outwitting cannibals wild for English cuisine, and rescuing her best friend from a certain pack of lost children, not to mention that pesky Peter Pan who keeps barging in uninvited.

The crocodile’s clock is always ticking in Heidi Schulz’s debut novel, a story told by an irascible narrator who is both dazzlingly witty and sharp as a sword. Will Jocelyn find the courage to beat the incessant monster before time runs out?

B&N | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository

FALLS THE SHADOW by STEFANIE GAITHER

When Cate Benson was a kid, her sister, Violet, died. Two hours after the funeral, Cate’s family picked up Violet’s replacement. Like nothing had happened. Because Cate’s parents are among those who decided to give their children a sort of immortality—by cloning them at birth—which means this new Violet has the same smile. The same perfect face. Thanks to advancements in mind-uploading technology, she even has all of the same memories as the girl she replaced.

She also might have murdered the most popular girl in school.

At least, that’s what the paparazzi and the anti-cloning protestors want everyone to think: that clones are violent, unpredictable monsters. Cate is used to hearing all that. She’s used to defending her sister, too. But Violet has vanished, and when Cate sets out to find her, she ends up in the line of fire instead. Because Cate is getting dangerously close to secrets that will rock the foundation of everything she thought was true.

In a thrilling debut, Stefanie Gaither takes readers on a nail-biting ride through a future that looks frighteningly similar to our own time and asks: how far are you willing to go to keep your family together?

B&N | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository

THE 8TH CONTINENT by MATT LONDON

Evie and Rick Lane are determined to transform the Great Pacific Garbage Patch—a real life pile of floating garbage—into an eighth continent, using a special formula developed by their father. This new continent will be a place where their family can live free from the intervention of Winterpole, a global rule-maker run by bumbling bureaucrats. But eleven-year-old pink-and-plastic-obsessed Vesuvia Piffle, the secret mastermind behind the villainous Condo Corp, also has her sights set on this new land, and she wants to use it to build a kind of Miami-on-steroids. Now, it’s a race against time and across the world as the kids gather the items they need to create their continent. Because whoever controls the eighth continent controls our future. And the future can’t be both “green” and pink.

B&N | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository

OneFour KidLit Releases, week of 9/8/14

            

FALLING INTO PLACE by Amy Zhang

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road. 

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

B&N Amazon | IndieBound Book Depository

CROWN OF ICE by Vicki L. Weavil

Thyra Winther’s seventeen, the Snow Queen, and immortal, but if she can’t reassemble a shattered enchanted mirror by her eighteenth birthday she’s doomed to spend eternity as a wraith. Armed with magic granted by a ruthless wizard, Thyra schemes to survive with her mind and body intact. Unencumbered by kindness, she kidnaps local boy Kai Thorsen, whose mathematical skills rival her own. Two logical minds, Thyra calculates, are better than one. With time rapidly melting away she needs all the help she can steal. A cruel lie ensnares Kai in her plan, but three missing mirror shards and Kai’s childhood friend, Gerda, present more formidable obstacles. Thyra’s willing to do anything – venture into uncharted lands, outwit sorcerers, or battle enchanted beasts — to reconstruct the mirror, yet her most dangerous adversary lies within her breast. Touched by the warmth of a wolf pup’s devotion and the fire of a young man’s desire, the thawing of Thyra’s frozen heart could be her ultimate undoing. 

CROWN OF ICE is a YA Fantasy that reinvents Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Snow Queen” from the perspective of a young woman who discovers that the greatest threat to her survival may be her own humanity.

B&N Amazon | IndieBound 

WORDS AND THEIR MEANINGS by Kate Bassett

Anna O’Mally doesn’t believe in the five stages of grief. Her way of dealing with death equates to daily bouts of coffin yoga and fake-tattooing Patti Smith quotes onto her arms. Once a talented writer, Anna no longer believes words matter, until shocking discoveries– in the form of origami cranes– force her to redefine family and love.

As Anna goes in search of the truth, she discovers that while every story, every human being, has a last line, it might still be possible to find the words for a new beginning.

B&N Amazon | IndieBound Book Depository

SPIRIT’S KEY by Edith Cohn

Spirit’s Key is a mystery with a bit of magic for fans of Savvy and Because of Winn Dixie.

By now, twelve-year-old Spirit Holden should have inherited the family gift: the ability to see the future. But when she holds a house key in her hand like her dad does to read its owner’s destiny, she can’t see anything. Maybe it’s because she can’t get over the loss of her beloved dog, Sky, who died mysteriously. Sky was Spirit’s loyal companion, one of the wild dogs that the local islanders believe possess dangerous spirits. As more dogs start dying and people become sick, too, almost everyone is convinced that these dogs and their spirits are to blame—except for Spirit. Then Sky’s ghost appears, and Spirit is shaken. But his help may be the key to unlocking her new power and finding the cause of the mysterious illness before it’s too late.

B&N Amazon | IndieBound Book Depository

epicreads:

runwithskizzers:

esckeyes:

Performed by Julia Whelan

About the Book

Inertia, force, mass,
gravity, velocity,
acceleration …
cause and effect.
Liz Emerson doesn’t
understand any of it.
But I do.
I understand how we fall.
Where we fall. Why we fall.
I understand her sadness
and loneliness and silence,
her shattered heart.
It doesn’t have to be
this way, does it?
It wasn’t always
this way, was it?
Stay alive,
Liz Emerson,
stay alive.

Listen to the first two chapters of FALLING INTO PLACY by Amy Zhang on Soundcloud.

Guys, check out the first two chapters of this book AUDIO STYLE. 

Sample the FALLING INTO PLACE audiobook!!!!

skylardorset:

North Carolina!

skylardorset:

North Carolina!

christinafarley:

OMG! I got the audio copies if SILVERN from Brilliance today! @gretajung is the beautiful narrator.

christinafarley:

OMG! I got the audio copies if SILVERN from Brilliance today! @gretajung is the beautiful narrator.

mgbuehrlen:

Local author showcase highlights Michigan talent

The Brighton District Library will highlight new Michigan writers in its fourth Local Author Showcase Sept. 14.
Young adult authors include Barbara Pietron, author of Thunderstone; Bethany Neal, author of My Last Kiss; and M.G. Buehrlen with The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare.

Michigan folks, I’ll be at the Brighton District Library Local Author Showcase on Sept. 14th from 2-4pm. Come hang out with some amazing local Michigan authors, get a signed copy of THE 57 LIVES OF ALEX WAYFARE, and grab some bookmarks and Talk Nerdy stickers! 

mgbuehrlen:

Local author showcase highlights Michigan talent

The Brighton District Library will highlight new Michigan writers in its fourth Local Author Showcase Sept. 14.

Young adult authors include Barbara Pietron, author of Thunderstone; Bethany Neal, author of My Last Kiss; and M.G. Buehrlen with The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare.


Michigan folks, I’ll be at the Brighton District Library Local Author Showcase on Sept. 14th from 2-4pm. Come hang out with some amazing local Michigan authors, get a signed copy of THE 57 LIVES OF ALEX WAYFARE, and grab some bookmarks and Talk Nerdy stickers! 

In the Middle with Jen Malone

heidischulz:

In the Middle with Jen Malone, author of AT YOUR SERVICE:

Today, we are in the middle with Jen Malone, chatting about her adorable middle grade debut, At Your Service.

cvr9781481402835_9781481402835_hr

Thirteen-year-old Chloe Turner wants nothing more than to follow in Dad’s footsteps as a respected concierge in a posh NYC hotel. After all, living at a hotel is heaven, and perks like free concert tickets and all-access passes to boutiques, restaurants, and attractions aren’t too shabby…

View On WordPress

#jen malone #at your service

dahlelama:

8 Great YA Summer Romances

#open road summer #emery lord

dahlelama:

8 Great YA Summer Romances

#open road summer #emery lord

vickilweavil:

Enter to win a copy of CROWN OF ICE on Goodreads — http://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/105409-crown-of-ice

vickilweavil:

Enter to win a copy of CROWN OF ICE on Goodreads — http://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/105409-crown-of-ice